1965 Dune by Frank Herbert
1966 Babel-17 by Samuel R. Delany and Flowers For Algernon by Daniel Keyes (tie)
1967 The Einstein Intersection by Samuel R. Delany
1968 Rite of Passage by Alexei Panshin
1969 The Left Hand of Darknessby Ursula K. Le Guin
1970 Ringworld by Larry Niven
1971 A Time of Changes by Robert Silverberg
1972 The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov
1973 Rendezvous With Rama by Arthur C. Clarke
1974 The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin
1975 The Forever War by Joe Haldeman
1976 Man Plus by Frederik Pohl
1977 Gateway by Frederik Pohl
1978 Dreamsnake by Vonda N. McIntyre
1979 The Fountains of Paradise by Arthur C. Clarke
1980 Timescape by Gregory Benford
1981 The Claw of the Conciliator by Gene Wolfe
1982 No Enemy But Time by Michael Bishop
1983 Startide Rising by David Brin
1984 Neuromancer by William Gibson
1985 Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
1986 Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
1987 The Falling Woman by Pat Murphy
1988 Falling Free by Lois McMaster Bujold
1989 The Healer's War by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
1990 Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin
1991 Stations of the Tide by Michael Swanwick
1992 Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
1993 Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
1994 Moving Mars by Greg Bear
1996 Slow River by Nicola Griffith (Del Rey, Aug95)
1997 The Moon and the Sun by Vonda N. McIntyre
1998 Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman
1999 Parable of the Talents by Octavia E. Butler (Seven Stories Press)
2000 Darwin's Radio by Greg Bear (Ballantine)
2001 The Quantum Rose by Catherine Asaro (Tor)
2002 American Gods by Neil Gaiman (Morrow)